February 19, 2009

  • Sibling Preparedness Plan

    It's no secret: I'm a planner. Sure, my six years as a full-time project manager enhanced my planning skills, but this goes way back. I remember that one time, when I was in high school, June and I decided to see a movie together. Hours before the movie was supposed to start, I started plotting out exactly when we should leave the house, working backwards from how long it would take to drive to the theater, park, get tickets and find good seats. June turned to me and snapped, "God, Bev! Going to a movie is supposed to be fun!" My reply was, and still would be, that it wouldn't be fun if we ended up getting there after the movie began, or if we ended up in the very first or last rows, now would it? (However, I should add that June is a great planner as well -- she's just less neurotic than I am, which is good.)

    The fact is, planning calms me. Even if something doesn't go according to plan, the fact that there was a plan that began "correctly" makes it easier to come up with a, well, plan to get things back on track. So you can imagine how much Baby Surprise threw me for a loop, initially. By the way, I would like to reiterate that unplanned does not equal unwanted in any way. Baby Surprise was/is very much wanted -- we've always wanted a second child, and he is an extremely welcome addition to the family, in every bit the way Jack is. However, Jack went very much according to plan: From the time that the positive test came back, I plotted how to decorate his room, what baby gear I would need, and all that good stuff. Now that our family is expanding again, that inner planner is dying to take over -- my nesting instinct is even stronger this time. I always envisioned that when I became pregnant ith my second child, I would be in a situation where I could just take care of the "warm fuzzies," such as nursery decor, organizing Jack's infant clothes and gear for his sibling and making meals to freeze in advance. But, now I'm dealing with the "cold realities" of mortgage applications, house hunting and moving. The fact that all this has to happen before the warm fuzzies keeps me up at night, especially when I consider that my pregnancy will be halfway over this Saturday. HALFWAY OVER, and I don't know yet where I'm going to live when it's all the way over!

    I do want to say, before I get to the point of this entry, that I'm not really complaining. In this economy, Johnny and I are extremely lucky. We have 1.5 well-paying jobs (the half a job is mine  ... ahh, if only being a mom entailed a paycheck!); two well-running, relatively recently-made cars that, thanks to the generosity of both sets of parents, don't require monthly payments; the knowledge that we can get a mortgage in the amount we need; and family members who provide us with emotional support and childcare help when we most need it. So, most of the time I'm very grateful and know that I'm not in a place to complain ... but I do stress.

    So, after all this has been said, the point is that I've found a way to plan that does not involve houses, nursery decor or plans for Jack's big boy room. That, folks, is to come up with a Sibling Preparedness Plan for Jack. In order to prepare him (and myself) for his brother's arrival, we're going to begin with a multi-pronged attack (perhaps a friendlier word would be "approach"):

    1. Goodbye, paci. In a way, I love the paci. It's an off button when Jack is fussy, especially in public places, and a great aide for getting him off to sleep on his own. But, I get so many negative comments about it, and I admit that sometimes it makes me a lazy mother. It's easy to give it to him and get on with my own business. I hate seeing him grab it willy-nilly throughout the day. Plus, I just don't want to deal with washing and storing two kids' worth of pacis. (Yes, I will be using pacis with Surprise, if he likes them. The good outweighs the bad, in my opinion.) As with most other baby-related transitions, my preferred technique is cold turkey (and Jack seems to take to that approach well, as was the case with the end of swaddling and the end of bottles). A few days after our return to Taiwan -- yikes, that would be next week -- I am throwing out all of our pacis. OK, I'm going to keep one buried in a drawer somewhere. Sorry in advance, neighbors, but I don't think the transition will take long. One thing I will miss is the recent behavior Jack's developed of handing me or my mom his paci occasionally and requesting, "shi shi," which means "wash wash" in Chinese. He'll stand there and watch you wash his paci, then hold out his hand and ask for it back. Cute, but soon to be no more.

    2. Goodbye, crib. After the paci has been well-eliminated, we're getting guard rails for the full-size bed in Jack's room and moving him in the big boy bed. This will be months before Surprise is born. When we move into our house this spring, the crib will go in the nursery, and Jack's room will not contain any of his current furniture, except his big boy bed. I'm tempted to get him big boy sheets, but he doesn't know the difference right now, and I've decided to wait until we get the house and decide on a paint color for the walls of Jack's room. Plus at that time, we can get him a new dresser, so we might as well save all the big boy transitions for then, rather than put big boy bedding in a room adorned with cute little frogs and dragonflies.

    3. Introducing patience. Ahh, patience. It's something Jack does not have and probably will not have for several years. But, at least, I'm going to gradually get him used to waiting a few minutes for something he wants. I'm very lucky in that I'm going to have my mom helping me out full-time for the first year of Surprise's life, but I'm sure there will be times when Jack needs to wait for something (and even if not, I want him to get used to this). However, as Jack's mother doesn't have much patience herself, this might be a skill that's learned by both the toddler and the adult.

    4. Hello, toilet. We'll continue with the potty training efforts. Alas, after much success with consistently pooping on the toilet, Jack has regressed. He no longer wants to even sit on the toilet. It doesn't surprise me that this happened in Taiwan, but the weird thing is that he pooped well here for the first week, then decided he didn't want to. I'm hoping it's temporary. Otherwise I'm going to have to send him off to his prom with his toilet ring in hand, haha.

    5. Lots of quality time with Mommy and Daddy. This is most important of all. We do tell Jack that a baby is coming, but the truth is that he's too young to really understand, so we're going to focus on just continuing to have fun with him and give him as much undivided love and attention as we can before Surprise joins us. That will be absolutely wonderful, but I also treasure this alone time with Jack, time that I'll never get back. I really can't get over the fact that my little baby boy is going to be a big brother soon.

    So that's my five-pronged plan! I'll be sure to keep you guys posted on my progress. Wish us luck!

Comments (12)

  • u are very lucky you have both side of parents helping u out! planning is a must. i like to plan things too. everyone thinks kids using pacifier automatically thinks parents are lazy. that's not the case... it  helps soothe the baby too.

  • That's a great plan. It's a way for you to have a plan to make you feel more reassured and not neurotic since really once you introduce a 2nd kiddo into the mix, most plans go out the window anyway, LOL.

  • Oh, I so hear you!  I'm a major planner, too (I know, big shocker).  And just like you, I'd rather have a plan in my head, even if things go off course.  Just makes me feel better to start that way.  I hear you on the paci thing.  I think they're super helpful tools, but there comes a time for all kids when it's time to say goodbye.

    The only thing I would play devil's advocate on is the bed transition.  I've heard entirely too many nightmare stories about kids transitioned to beds too early.  Too much freedom, dropped naps... GAH!  Obviously you know Jack and your circumstances best.  But my plan is to keep my kids in cribs for a long time yet.  So that's my two cents.  Feel free, obviously, to ignore it completely!

    Good luck with the rest of your trip!  I hope the flight home goes as well as the flight there!

  • yay, I finally get to comment on your posts... sorry I've been away from the office for weeks, it's impossible to get anything done with the two boys around, I have no clue when you find time to blog.

    I'm a total opposite of you, I'm not a long term planner, I'm more like a short term planner as in what I'm having for dinner tonight.

    1) Paci - I hope cold turkey works. It took me a while to wean Tristan. I think he was off his paci around 24 months. He would have paci nightmares when he wouldn't give it to him, and took him forever to sleep without it. Paci nightmares = waking up and freaking out that he couldn't find it. Tyson never took a paci, or a bottle... so no weaning necessary for him.

    2) Tristan climbed out of his crib at 12 months. So he always slept on a twin bed (that we had extra in his bedroom)... without guards. He never fell off surprisingly. Tyson sleeps with me in the master bedroom. We only have 2BR so the boys have to share eventually, but we still feel it's too early since we don't want them to wake each other up. Crib should be a lot easier than weaning the paci.

    3) You want to introduce patience to a toddler? Haha. No comment.

    4) Jack is still very young, we had our conversation when it comes to Potty training. No rush on that! What you're doing is perfect, and I doubt he would have to wear diapers to his prom.

    5) You are SO lucky you stay at home with Jack, I'm so quality time with your boy(s) is not lacking. As for full-time working parents like us who are always out of the house 12+ hours a day, we feel that we don't spend enough time with the boys....

    Can you rename baby Surprise to something else? it's weird calling someone a surprise

  • Beverly this is why we get along so well. I would have been totally on board with the movie planning. :) I am the same way! Good luck with the 5-prong approach...I'm sure it will work beautifully. 

  • @Liz - I would never ignore your advice! You're one of my "mom gurus." Even though our kids are the same age, the fact that you have two (and that you know so many other moms) elevates your knowledge status. :) a bit fuzzy on the bed transition myself. To tell you the truth, the main motivation is that I do not want to buy another crib. We'll see how the first few days go. If it screws up the rest of our otherwise wonderful schedule in any way, then I'll go back to the crib for now.

    @babybitez - Yes, our potty training conversation has helped me not get too frustrated! :) And, sorry, no renaming Baby Surprise. I mean, Johnny and I are renaming him in our heads, but the next time you hear about a renaming, it will be his actual name (after he's born). Tee hee!

  • Well, I gotta say...this entry has made me feel like a failure   I had high hopes for Hannah while I was pregnant (mainly in the potty-department).  My pregnancy became troublesome early on though so the potty-training was never full-force.  Now that Aidan is here, I feel like it will never happen because I just don't have the time.  Hopefully we can get her to use the potty by the time she's 3!  Hannah still uses a pacifier.  Sure, we got her down to only using one at naptime and bedtime awhile back, but I wish she didn't use one at all.  I've actually been thinking about going cold-turkey with her for awhile now.  I was nervous to make a big change with Aidan arriving, but she does fine with him and he doesn't use a pacifier so she won't be upset by his.  Hannah is still in her crib.  I was in a crib until I was 4 years old!  I don't want Hannah to go that long but she sleeps so well in it and I don't see any reason to mess with that yet.

    I hope everything works well for you!  I think you and Jack will do well with what you want to accomplish

  • @shelly1196 - Shelly, don't feel like a failure! Actually, I often look to you as an inspiration, you, the one who cooks a dinner for four barely a month after she's given birth! The thing is, if Jack only used a paci at bed- and naptime, I wouldn't be thinking about paci weaning. It's only because he uses it all the freaking time that it's a big deal to me. I feel like if I gave him one at bedtime, he would cry for it at other times, so we'll try cold turkey first. As for potty training, well, who can blame you? It's not like with the conditions that arose during your pregnancy, you could be supervising Hannah's pottying efforts. She's a smart girl -- I KNOW it won't take her long once she's ready. I'm sure the same is true for crib transitioning. Like I commented back to Liz earlier, if Jack shows resistance to not being in his crib, that's one I'm not going to push. Anyway, my point is, don't feel bad! I think you are an excellent mom of two -- you seem very calm and are breastfeeding so well. (Not to mention all that enviable weight loss and dinner-making.) If I can accomplish that once baby boy arrives, I'll be very happy! :)

  • i am such a planner too.  i think the way you do regarding the movie thing too.  i've always been a planner and until recently i thought everyone planned ahead too.  and then realized that i'm in the minority and none of my friends are planners. 

    i plan wayyyyy into the future too.  as in i already know where i'm gonna live and what i'll do when i retire.  of course, things can change and that's ok too, plans are not written in stone.  i just like to know what to aim for and where i'm going in life. 

    that's so cute how jack asks you guys and waits for it to be washed.  maybe in a couple months, jack can help wash his baby brother's paci.

  • First off, about the paci. I was attached to the dang binky for EVER. My mom would wean me, and then my brother would be born. I would steal his. She'd wean both of us, and then my sister was born, then was weaned, and then my baby sister came. I was attached to that thing for a good four years. Embaressing, I know. =D.  It's probably going to hard for you, since Jack will be seeing his little brother having a binky and not him. I don't know how to fix that, but I do know how to get rid of binkys BEFORE the baby comes. There are alot of techniques. My mom told me that she flushed my binkys down the toilet so the fish could have them. I actually believed her! And every time we went by a lake, I would smile so big, because I knew those fish had my binkys! haha. I think kids do better when you tell them a story about what happened to it.

    As for the bed, Kailyn was transitioned VERY early into her bed. I think Jack will be fine. It'll probably be a struggle for him to stay in bed at first, since he will realize how he can be free to get down whenever. Also, make sure you completely baby proof his room. I had to take her curtains off in her room, because she would pull them down. Just little things like that will make you worry! =)

    I'm worried about all these things too. Kailyn doesn't have a binky, and does sleep in a big bed....but I'm so nervous about how she'll be feeling when he/she comes. I don't want to her feel neglected. I will be nursing this one, and since Kailyn nursed for over a year, I know she will be very jealous.

    RYC- thank you so much for your comment about Kailyn noticing different races. I was nervous even posting it, because I thought someone would think we are racists or something! Which is def NOT true! lol My mom laughs so hard when she calls her the "brown me maw". I'm def going to take your advice! Thank you!

  • You obviously know best what Jack can or can't handle, but a co-worker with a son by the same name had a nightmare experience w/the bed transition.  Her son was not quite 2 and was very tall and able to climb out of his crib so they suspected it was time.  He had always been a great sleeper.  The big boy bed did not go over well at all and it took weeks and several books and approaches to retrain him to sleep.  I remember how tired she looked then and how much she regretted not getting a crib tent instead.  I hope Jack's experience is not the same, but just a note of caution... good luck with everything!  You've always been such a great planner!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment