May 19, 2008

  • Ever Eaten Mold?

    I hope the answer to that question is no! Unfortunately, this morning I ate mold without realizing it. On Friday night, I made a trip to Trader Joe's. Among many other things, I bought a package of their Tandoori Naan (not the frozen naan, but the fresh, ultra-soft, extremely delicious naan that come six to a plastic bag). The bag said the naan would be good until Monday, but I knew it wouldn't last until then in our household. Johnny and I gobble up TJ's naan with hummus, or just plain as a snack, or toasted with butter ... basically, we use any excuse we can to eat it!

    This morning, after Jack went down for his nap, I realized I was starving. So I sat myself down with some soy milk and half a piece of naan. Yes, I know it's random, but I just wanted some of its carby goodness. Sure enough, it hit the spot. As I ate, I read my latest issue of Real Simple. All of a sudden, the usually fluffy-yet-substantial naan tasted very ... odd. It was like I was eating a mouthful of cleaning-product-flavored bread. This was dumb of me, but I didn't look down. It was just that one bite that tasted weird, so I chalked it up to the bread somehow coming in contact with some counter cleaner or something (I had just cleaned up with Mrs. Meyer's countertop spray the night before). I finished the rest of my breakfast and moved on with my day.

    A couple of hours ago, Johnny was rummaging around for a pre-dinner snack. He decided on some naan and hummus. As soon as he opened up the bag of naan, he said, "Oh, gross, moldy naan!" I jumped up and went to see what he was talking about. Sure enough, a lovely veneer of white mold with specks of green was growing all over the naan. I am pretty sure that the really putrid-tasting piece I ate was covered in mold. Of course, Johnny was like, "Well, most of this piece looks fine; I'll just throw the moldy part away and eat the rest!" I made him chuck the whole bag. Gross, gross, gross! I normally don't like to put bread in the fridge if I know I'm going to eat it by the sell-by date. But, it's been so hot this weekend that I guess the bacteria got freaky with each other.

    No worries, though, I don't seem to have suffered any ill physical effects from eating mold. I am sad that I'm without naan, though ... that was going to be my midnight snack!  Just as well, I suppose ... stuffing myself with carbohydrates late at night is kind of falling off the wagon, no?

    The rest of the weekend was blissfully mold-free. Saturday, we headed to my parents' house. It was a scorcher of a day, with temps in the triple digits, so we mostly stayed indoors. Here are some cute pics of Jack we took before we left our apartment in the morning:

    "So the gravitational pull from the big blue ball pulls the small red ball into its orbit ... "

    May 4 007.jpg

    Lookit those eyes!

    May 4 014.jpg

    The big news from Saturday was that Jack stood on his own for the first time! I don't have a picture of it, but June, Charles and Johnny all saw it. Unfortunately I didn't catch it. But, Jack was holding on to his push toy, and he suddenly let go, and then balanced there like a surfer for about five seconds. Way to go!

    I also want to share this picture of Jack's funny sleeping position:

    May 4 016.jpg

    What he does is stand up and cruise around his crib or Pack N Play (since we were away from home, he was sleeping in the PNP) until he literally just drops onto the mattress with his eyes closed. He stays in whatever position he landed in until I straighten him out!! It's so funny to watch -- it's like Jack suddenly runs out of batteries.

    Today, we stuck around home. I took Jack to the park in the morning, before it got too hot.

    On the way to the park, sporting his new hat

    May 4 019.jpg

    Enjoying the swings

    May 4 020.jpg

    Playing in the sand like a big boy

    May 4 023.jpg

    Jack made a friend at the park today -- an adorable one-year-old girl. They played alongside each other. Jack shared his sand toys; the little girl came over and sat in my lap at one point. So adorable! I've seen this little girl, her parents and their dog, for a while now on weekend mornings. They go to the Coffee Bean before stopping at the park. It looks like a really cute ritual. I promise I'm not a stalker, but you can't help noticing these things when you keep seeing the same people week after week. When I lived in Chicago, I used to see the same people every morning on the way to work. Sometimes I'd think, "That girl always has the best shoes," or "Wow, I've read the same book she's reading!" But of course, I'd never talk to them, for fear of looking like a weirdo. The nice thing about having a baby is that it gives you an instant excuse to strike up conversation with other parents! (Same thing with having a dog. And hey, this couple I met today has both!) Anyway, we had a nice time at the park, and next time we run into this family, we can actually say hello.

    Karthika and Courtney came over in the mid-morning so they could hang out with us and Jack for a little bit before we went out to a girls' brunch. Jack was a bit shy with them at first, but was soon trying to woo them by waving at them. Johnny tried to take a picture of us with Jack. The key word is tried:

    Jack would not look at the camera

    May 4 025.jpg

    Apparently Jack wanted to look at Karthika's shoes; Courtney tries to keep Jack from flopping out of my arms altogether

    May 4 026.jpg

    Jack says, "Haha, look over there!"

    May 4 027.jpg

    "Whoa, did you know there were bricks behind us?"

    May 4 029.jpg

    Jack is, as always, the life of the party

    May 4 030.jpg

    Oh, well, those pictures are somehow even more fun than a "proper" pic with all of us looking at the camera! Brunch was fun ... it's always nice to spend time with the girls. While we were out, Johnny took Jack out to dim sum with some of his classmates from school. I was impressed that Johnny managed Jack on an extended outing alone. Way to go, Johnny!

    In the afternoon, we took Jack to the pool. Jack and Johnny took these hilarious pics together while getting ready for a swim.

    The Zoolander pic ... Blue Steel

    May 4 040b.jpg

    Isn't this sweet? Father and son laughing together!

    May 4 041b.jpg

    My goofballs

    May 4 043.jpg

    Somehow, even though Johnny and I both take care of Jack and do things to make him laugh, Jack has associated Johnny with big laughs, and me with everything else. The moment Jack sees Johnny, he waves and giggles. When Jack sees me, he smiles and wants to be picked up, but there's not the "oh gosh now everything is going to be so hilarious" reaction. When he's frustrated or hurt, though, Jack will look to me first and say "mama." I know it's natural for babies to make this distinction, but I find it fascinating that it's so instinctive. Certainly Johnny does nurturing things for Jack -- feeding, diaper-changing, putting to bed -- and of course I do laugh-inducing things with Jack -- tickling, chasing while barking, endless peekaboo-ing -- but somehow Jack has differentiated our purpose!

    Hope everyone had a good weekend!

Comments (12)

  • what a fun weekend, beverly! jack looks so adorable, especially with his new hat.  it's definitely been getting hot over here! it was 108 degrees here today.  sorry to hear you ate moldy naan!!!  thank goodness it didn't make you sick, though. 

    ryc: yup, john got that shirt from target and it was like $4.00. he was couldn't pass up the bargain!! 

  • So cute! I love the pic of him sleeping, my sister slept like that until she was in elementary school, I believe. It was very strange. Of course laughing pictures are very cute. :)

  • Oh, Beverly...moldy bread!? Ewwwwwww!!! I'm sorry.

    Looks like you had a very nice (and hot) weekend. Way to go Jack on the standing! And way to go Johnny for taking Jack on an outing

    Hehe...Hannah used to make the Blue Steel face - we have pictures I love all the pictures - they're great! Jack and Johnny laughing together is just so cute. You're totally right - Hannah laughs at Shaun so much more, but if she's hurt and we're both here she would much rather me comfort her.

  • I'm sure I've eaten moldy stuff before...it grows so easily haha.  I've never gotten sick though.  i love the last 2 pics of Johnny and Jack, very very cute:)

  • HAHA EW moldy food, yuck! No wonder if tasted awful :( ... I love the Zoolander face with Johnny and Jack, super cute!

  • Love the pics- Jack has the cutest outfits! He is such a well-dressed little man! I bet it was cute to watch him and the little girl play in the sand together- Im sure thats just the beginning of a trend, hehe! Also, I feel your pain on eating mold- I love cheese, so a few years ago I was just eating shredded cheese out of the bag (weird I know) without looking at it, and then after I had been eating it for a while I saw through the clear part of the bag that a lot of the white mozarella was actually green- YUCK!  Ew it gives me the chills to think about it now, hehe!

    RYC: Thanks for being so excited with me- it makes it even more fun!! I am very glad all this long distance stuff will be over really soon! Also, thanks for the encouragement w/working out- I made sure to do my yoga booty today and hopefully I'll get back in the habit again!

  • Yay for Jack standing up on his own!! That is such a big accomplishment. Those pictures of Jack are so cute!! He is growing up so fast. And I love your summer dress-so pretty on you!! :o ) What type of bread is Naan? I think I've heard of it, so I'll have to ck it out the next time I'm at TJs. Oh and yeah that is gross that u ate moldy bread, but that is something I would do!! :P Oh and I love Real Simple; I wish I had subscribed to their magazine. I often visit their website and get lots of great emails about organizning, cleaning etc. Hope you had a good Monday!! :o )

  • ew ew ew, mold. I'm one of those uptight people who throws things away that smell slightly like mold, even though no one else can tell... Ya, I waste stuff.
    Jack is just so adorable... He looks like he's going to be an extroverted, fun loving boy as he grows up.

  • congrats to jack for standing unsupported!!

    someone i know said they accidentally ate moldy powdered donuts before so now i'm very cautious when i eat powdered donuts. so gross! i'm glad you didn't get sick or anything though.

    i love, Love, LOVE the last 3 pictures of johnny and jack, they look so cute together, great father and son pictures. the picture of jack in the swing is adorable and the one of him reaching out to the person wearing black on the couch is cute too. great pictures as always! but then again, how can you go wrong when the object of the pictures is as CUTE as a button!

  • It was you?! I was so convinced that Jack ate mold! By the way, I love Real Simple. Instead of reading them right away, I always savor them slowly, hoping to spread the pages across the month so I don't have to wait as long for the next one. I just love the pretty pictures, the great little tips, and how it motivates me to keep the house cleaner.

    It sure looks like a fun weekend. I love the pictures of Jack making faces with Johnny. Has Johnny realized that Jack is really laughing at him rather than with him? ; )

    By the way, I'm going to use that website you recommended later this week (I waited this long so I don't have to extend the 2 month membership). We are actually going to LA from June 4th to June 7th to look for apartments (early I know, but Han has that conference I told you about earlier). We are not sure just how busy we'd be with the whole apartment hunting thing, but do let us know if you guys would be free to meet up for lunch/dinner!

  • @noraelle - Amy, we'd love to meet up with you guys at some point, if your schedules allow! June 6 is Johnny's bday, so we got a babysitter so we can go out to dinner. She has a four-hour minimum, though, so we can always meet up with you and Han after dinner for some drinks or dessert. Or, we could also have you guys over for dinner on June 5. We're flexible except for June 7, so you can just let me know when the time gets closer. :)

  • Thanks for your article, really useful information. go LINK 9. This can't have effect in actual fact, that's exactly what I think. here here LINK. This won't really have success, I consider like this. 9 web 6. Wow, there is a lot of effective info in this post!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment