February 27, 2007

  • A Fantastic Weekend (Pics Added!)

    Johnny and I had a really great weekend!

    On Friday night, we did my favorite thing -- veg out! Johnny had been productive during the day and had done all our laundry, so it saved us the time of doing it in the evening. For dinner, I boiled up some whole wheat pasta and made cherry tomato pasta sauce (courtesy of a recipe from Shawn! I still love that one). While we ate, Johnny and I watched the reunion episode of Beauty and the Geek. After dinner, we watched Thank You For Smoking, which was a really funny movie, but unfortunately I fell asleep at the end!

    Saturday, we met up at Rose Hills Memorial Park with my mom, June and Charles to visit my grandmother. My mom goes often, and I try to go as much as I can, so we can "talk" to my grandmother. My mom brought flowers and we filled my grandmother in on all our recent activities, and then we talked about our most vivid memories of her. She is still very much a part of our lives.

    After that, we all had lunch together, then I got my haircut! It wasn't very drastic at all, as you'll see in the pictures tonight, but I got it cleaned up a bit -- it was getting too long and lifeless. After that, Johnny and I returned to our apartment to get ready for ... an evening with Jody and John, who were in town to visit their friends Ian and Melissa! Jody and I have been friends on Xanga for more than two years now, and we confide in each other a lot. I was so excited to meet her! We met up at an awesome Thai restaurant in Hollywood, and let me say, the moment Jody walked in the door, I recognized her, not only from all the pictures, but just from the feeling of knowing her. For those of you who are wondering, Jody is exactly the way she comes through from her blog -- generous, kind, funny and smart! There was no first-meeting awkwardness. We hugged and squealed like long-lost friends. I'm sure Ian and Melissa thought it was odd at first -- they were also really nice! We are going to try to set up some play dates for Atari and Melissa's adorable Shiba Inus. Like Jody and I predicted, Johnny and John got along well. Johnny reported that they did the "guy dance" of making comments about various comics, video games and movies that each one liked, to see if the other responded in kind. Once they realized they were kindred spirits, they began discussing those topics in detail. Johnny said, "We're on the same wavelength!" And that is how I felt about Jody!

    A picture of Jody and I

    February 039

    The men -- Johnny, John and Ian -- at Palms Thai

    February 042

    Jody and I in the lobby of the Arclight Theater, which was the coolest theater I've been to

    February 046

    Melissa, Jody and I after the movie

    February 047

    A bit dark, but one last picture of me and Jody from this trip (more to come in April!)

    February 048

    The night flew by -- John and Jody treated all of us to dinner, then we went to see Norbit (it was just the only movie that we could all agree upon, or at least agree to see! It was funny, at least) at this amazingly classy theater where every seat is reserved. We had dessert in the ultra-swanky bar before the movie. We wanted to hang out with John, Jody, Melissa and Ian some more (they invited us to lunch on Sunday), but sadly we'd already made other plans. Luckily, John and Jody are back in April for another visit to LA, so we'll see them then! Now we just have to figure out how to meet our other good Xangan friends!

    Yesterday, we did some stuff with family and family friends, and Johnny and I stopped by Babies R Us, where we ordered a wide white dresser for the nursery. I'm not getting a separate changing table, but it so happens that the top of of this dresser can double as one. I have heard that you don't get much use out of a changing table, anyway, and that most parents use the floor or a big bed as a changing surface, but I registered for a changing pad anyway, to put on top of the dresser. The dresser will take 10-12 weeks to come in, can you believe it?! Luckily I have the time! It'll come fully assembled -- a nice plus! We also picked out the Froggy Tales nursery theme (click on the thumbnails for larger images) -- who can resist the frog prince?! We also figured that if the doctor was wrong, and a Baby Girl O'Neal pops out instead, at least it's kind of gender-neutral (but I don't know, the frog with the crown seems like a boy to me). I don't know about those of you with boys, but I feel like around the age of 3 or 4, they'll start wanting to have more definitely boy-like rooms: like with a Cars theme, or sports, or superheroes (and you know Johnny will be into that!). Before I'm faced with a lifetime of Spider-Man or baseball-themed rooms, I'd like to have a couple years of a sweet little prince's room. We're going to buy the bedding set ourselves. I am so tempted to get everything now and look at it every day, but Johnny urged me to put the rest of the items (besides the bedding set) up on our registry so that when it comes time, friends who come to our shower will have something more exciting than my breast pump and waterproof crib pads to buy!  

    Man, when we were planning our wedding, I marveled at how companies manage to suck money out of the vulnerable couple. Little did I realize that it's even worse when it comes to babies! Practically, I know that the baby needs very little -- does he need a frog-themed nursery set? Not at all! Will he need a quilt? Not for the first year or even more! But how do you resist? I should quit my day job and open up a baby products business.

    OK, back to work!

Comments (20)

  • sounds like a great weekend!! I love the nursery set you picked out, it's adorable and really different too than most i've seen!

    RYC: Thank you so much!

  • I love the froggies!!! 
    so cute!

  • It sounds like you had a great weekend!! I'm so glad you finally got to meet Jody and it was like seeing a long lost friend!! I wish and hope I can meet both of you one day b/c y'all seem so sweet and down to earth.  I'm glad you also got to visit your grandmother's grave.  Oh and the frogs are so cute! :o )

    p.s. I just might have to go and see Norbit this Saturday! It looks so funny!

  • What a great weekend, especially visiting your grandmother and just vegging out with Johnny!  Don't you know that EVERY baby needs a frog nursery set??  Gosh!  ;)   It's a great idea to put 'fun' stuff on your registry - it'll be a blast for people to buy that stuff for you. 

  • Hi Beverly, again, it was great meeting you this weekend and I look forward to seeing you again in April when you'll be even bigger!!!    Ian and Melissa really liked you and Johnny and I wish we all lived closer so we could hang out more!! John was a bit skeptical about my whole "xanga business" but after meeting you and Johnny, it really put his mind at ease and he really enjoyed Johnny's company.  I will be emailing you Melissa's email tomorrow when I have more time at work. Today was just crazy.  I walked into work with STACKS of papers on my desk - I seriously could not find my desk. I almost just turned around and went home after seeing what I was walking into - but I toughed it out and worked straight through the day...I think I'm going to bed early tonight!  I'm glad you had a chance to visit with your Grandma - that's what I wish we had more time of...time to talk more about everything else we blog about.  I hope you had a great Monday!

  • I love it when xanga strangers meet up! That's great that you felt like old friends and happened to create a real friendship in xangaland.

    The frog theme is adorable.

  • oh yeah! what 3 toppings did you get on your yogurt? i ordered strawberry, banana and the rice cake. YUMMY.

  • Beverly! I hope you get a chance to check out those pants, haha. Yeah, I am so happy you met one of your good xanga friends, but don't forget about me, I'm going to be there in 2 weeks, if I survive sky diving this weekend that is haha.

    I checked your friend Jody's site out and I want to tell you that you are barely showing, if I didn't know you were pregnant I wouldn't have even guessed! And you guys seemed all to have such a fun time! How wonderful!

    Have a great week, can't wait to see some pictures.

    p.s. I go visit my grandma's ashes whenever I get a chance, its warm but sad at the same time...but I know she always knows when I visit her, and I talk to her in my thoughts all the time. I know its hard...Hugs!

  • Wow, I'm so glad y'all had such a great weekend!!  Isn't it funny how we both met close internet friends this weekend??  And thanks for telling me Thank You For Smoking was funny.  I've been wanting to see it... now I'll know to rent it.  :o )

  • Thanks for sharing the pics!  Sounds like you and Jody had a great time!  I like the frog nursery!  It is very cute!  When we bought our crib we also bought a dresser that doubles as a changing station.  After Gracie got bigger, we took the changing pad off and put a lamp and books on top of her dresser, so it works out well.  Be sure to post pics when you get the room all set up!  Isn't it so exciting?

  • What's the registry number?

  • I love the frog theme! Very cute. Baby O'Neal is going to love it! I'm also excited to hear about you guys getting to "meet" John and Jody! Yay for meeting super cool xanga friends! Hehe.

    I'm sending you something in the mail. I couldn't resist!

  • I was going to buy you guys something, but for whatever reason, I can't through the American store. I tried the Canadian Store, but (of course) it doesn't show your registry. But I love buying things for babies!

    Do you have a PayPal account? If you do, I'll forward the money through there for the item I was going to buy you guys! I won't take no for an answer!

  • No worries! just email me the account email, tiff_rocks AT hotmail dot com

  • Oooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!! I love it!!!!!! Frog Prince!! Great idea!!

  • lol, you crack me up - back to pinkberry's in a time span of what, 3 days? I'd probably do the same though if there was one by me. i'm glad you liked the rice cakes - it was slightly sweet but i liked the chewy texture. 

  • Hi Beverly, I'm so glad (and a little envious) that you get to see Jody and John. It sounds like you four had a lot of fun and really enjoyed each other's company. Han and I both have our own "online" social circle, but so far, we've only met a couple of his game buddies. Hopefully we'll have the chance to meet in the future.  

    Your grandma must be glad to be visited by her family so often. I love the sharing of stories, and you may inevitably share stories with your other family members as well. It sounds like an intimate family tradition that perhaps you want to continue with your children.

    The Froggy themed nursey is too cute! I think the green is pretty gender neutral, and like you said, when your kid gets older, he or she will probably request for a room make-over, so for now you should pick whatever design you like. I know that when I have kids, I'll definitely start with a duck themed or ocean themed room!

  • The nursery will be adorable and I am so glad that you got some time with a Xanga friend!  Nothing like the first time you meet a friend that you have made on the internet and finally get to connect them with the physical.  I hope to get to meet my best 'internet' friend, Erin in Minnesota, some day.  :D

  • Awwww...I love the frogs I've seen that set during my many trips to Babies 'R' Us (even after the baby comes you won't be able to stay away!). Hannah also has a dresser with a changing pad on top and we use it every morning. We pretty much always change her on a changing table unless we're not at home. Downstairs we have her Pack 'n' Play which has the changing station attached, but she's starting to get too long for it so we'll have to start doing it on the floor or trek upstairs every time.

    I'm so glad that your visit with Jody was so comfortable It seems like you all had a really great time and I love the pictures!

    That is so sweet that you and your family visit your grandmother regularly. I know that she is watching over you and your family and she must be so thrilled for you and Johnny. One day, when your son is old enough you'll be able to tell him all about her and what a wonderful woman she was.

  • It can't have effect in fact, that is exactly what I suppose. web go 4. Gosh, there's a lot of helpful information above! 9 site 5. Pretty effective info, thanks so much for this article. 1 9 1. I read really much worthwhile data in this post!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment