February 18, 2009

  • Miniatures = Great Fun

    Yesterday, Uncle Scott took me, my mom and Jack to Window on China, an amusement park in Taoyuan that hosts the second-largest collection of miniature structures in the world. The park's Chinese name, translated literally, is "Little People Kingdom," which I suppose wouldn't be a very politically correct English name , but is a more apt description of the park. I love miniatures, and this park has really detailed, life-like miniature replicas of famous places in Taiwan and China, as well as some landmarks from Europe and Egypt. There's also a midway area with rides and games (including a giant water slide/roller coaster that looked like so much fun ... alas, pregnant women are not allowed to ride on such rambunctious attractions), and, best of all (for a geek like me), there was a new Doraemon exhibit! I grew up reading comic books about Doraemon, a robotic cat from the 22nd century who is sent to the present day by his owner to protect the owner's bumbling great-great-uncle, who is a fourth-grader at the time. It's hard to explain, but I was hooked on these comics.

    Anyway, I'm not sure who had the better time at Window on China, Jack or I. He oooh'd, ahh'd, wow'd and whee'd at everything, and spent lots of time running around. Jack also enjoyed his first train ride at an amusement park. Here are some pictures:

    Jack looking down at a mini train station. Those are bonsai trees!

    Taiwan 318.jpg

    The train station looks pretty normal-sized, but look at the people in the far left corner of the picture -- each structure was no taller than mid-calf!

    Taiwan 321.jpg

    Uncle Scott shows Jack the high-speed bullet train. It really moved on the track!

    Taiwan 322.jpg

    A little village in mini-China

    Taiwan 346.jpg

    Jack and I by some mini cargo ships. The little cargo containers were very realistic -- they even had real company names printed on them. And, the loading docks really worked!

    Taiwan 325.jpg

    Jack, Uncle Scott and I by mini-Chiang Kai Shek Memorial

    Taiwan 326.jpg

    Mini Leaning Tower of Pisa! If you look really closely, there's a miniature Doraemon on the second level from the top. I thought it was fun that park workers hid little Doraemon figures in almost every structure at the park to promote the new exhibit

    Taiwan 329.jpg

    Jack enjoying his first amusement park train ride

    Taiwan 332.jpg

    Me with some of my favorite Doraemon characters! These, oddly enough, were all larger than life. Go figure

    Taiwan 334.jpg

    Taiwan 335.jpg

    Taiwan 339.jpg

    Taiwan 340.jpg

    Taiwan 341.jpg

    My mom and I by the mini Great Wall of China (in the background)

    Taiwan 342.jpg

    These miniature people really moved!

    Taiwan 343.jpg

    Today after lunch, my mom, Jack and I met up with my good friend Emily at Sogo. Emily and I go all the way back to middle school, and she's actually my birthday buddy -- we have the same birthday, down to the year. We haven't seen each other in two years, so I was really excited to see her and have her meet Jack. Actually, last time we saw each other, I think I was also five months pregnant. Deja vu!

    Even Jack is happy about our reunion! My mom, me and Emily

    Taiwan 348.jpg  

    Finally, I have to share the picture below with you all. Jack saw my dad lounging on the chaise part of his couch the other day. The very next day, Jack climbed up on the chaise portion, stacked the pillows behind his head to his liking, and then leaned back on it. He watched almost a whole episode of Mickey Mouse playhouse this way, occasionally waving his hand lazily in the air. He even had his legs crossed at one point. It was too funny.

    Getting the hang of being a lazy man already!

    Taiwan 315

    I have more thoughts to share about Jack and my newly formed Sibling Preparedness Plan for him, but this entry is long enough already, so I'll save those thoughts for tomorrow. Good night!

Comments (18)

  • Little people kingdom!  I haven't been there since I was a kid! awww! 

    jack is so cute! I think it's amazing how they start doing these little things just like an adult...

  • Actually, speaking of deja vu, we had ice cream (or rather, pink berry!) last time we saw each other, too!  haha...  We should make this a tradition (just the frozen desserts part, not the 5 months pregnant and seeing each other after 2 years parts!)   

  • the trip looks wonderful. how's Jack. is he fussy? the little cartoon house looks so much fun and i would love to take some pictures in there..hehe

  • Hahah that is such a cute pic of Jack lounging. How long are you there?

  • Doraemon is one of my fav. cartoon charactor, I love the videos and the comic books! (Shh I even had a huge stuff animal of him and his sister)

  • It's the attack of the the BIG PEOPLE!! hehe.. The park is AMAZING!  I never seen anything like it.  I love ASIA for their creativeness. 

    I love the last pic of Jack lounging.  He looks really comfortable!  :)

  • Ooooo fun! Those minatures look so neat! I wanna ck it out in person. Jack looks so CUTE just lounging on the couch. I love that picture of him. I'm so glad you're enjoying your trip! When are you going back to CA?

    ryc; Oh I've heard of Pinkberry before! I was always curious about it, so now I know. I love the tangy yogurt w/ all the toppings. My niece Kristen is 14, so the movie might be too scary for her, but she loves scary movies, so we'll see. Ill ck the rating on it. I heard Heath's performance was phenomenal!

  • That place is AWESOME!  Where is the largest miniature structure place?  I love that you have a lot of pictures of you with the Doraemon exhibit   I have to say though, the last picture is my absolute favorite   It reminds me of when Hannah used to climb up on Shaun's couch and he would have his arm up on the back of the couch and she would imitate him and drape her arm over the end of the couch.  So cute!

  • That Doraemon exhibit is so cute! I love it! The pictures of the park are really neat. I'd probably be way more into it than my kids too, LOL. Jack looks SO adorable in that last pic. Seriously could he be any cuter?!?!

  • @spiffyears - We totally should make the ice cream thing a tradition! DEFINITELY not the frequency of meetings, though. And, could you imagine if either you or I were pregnant every two years??? EEEEK!

  • @fubabee - We're returning to LA on Saturday the 21st! Been here since Jan 23 (left LA on Jan 21).

  • @luvlyac - Jack's not more fussy than he is at home. Generally he's a bit fussy right after he wakes up in the morning and then again after his nap, but then fine at other times.

  • @shelly1196 - Shelly, I have no idea where the largest collection is! Good question ... I'll have to look it up. :)

  • SO CUTE! I love the lounging picture, and I really wish I could have gone to the miniatures park to see Jack's reactions. I also would have loved seeing your reactions, since you love miniatures so much. It reminds me a little of the miniature stuff we saw at Epcot Center during our Disney World trip.

    When I saw the blown-up version of the cargo ships picture, I was really confused at first. I was like, "why is Jack wearing a bra? Or are cutoff overalls the latest baby fashion statement in Asia?" Then I realized it must be the harness for a leash-type thing.

    Can't wait to see you in almost exactly three days!

  • @happyfunjohnny - Oh, hon, you know, "bros" are in right now, so I had to get Jack a baby version. No, you guessed right -- it's a kid leash thing. A family friend got two of them for us -- I have to admit, as much as I poo-poo'd it at first, it works much better than the monkey leash. Maybe Jack is just a steadier walker now, but I think the overall front keeps him more stable when he pulls ahead, and he doesn't mind wearing it. It was really a lifesaver at World on China, where he just wanted to run off and step on the miniature structures. It made what could have been a headache-inducing trip into a pleasant outing. Two cool features this leash has:

    1. It also works as a strap to keep Jack fastened to any type of chair with a back (or a high chair at a restaurant without straps, or a shopping cart -- there are two loops, one at each side of the overalls, that you can hook the leash part onto, and then adjust the length so it fits around the back of the chair)

    2. There's a zipper on the underside of the cut-off part of the overalls, and you turn it inside out and stuff everything inside a pocket, and then the whole thing turns into a tiny pouch! SO much easier to tote in a diaper bag than a mess of straps.

    I was really against this gift when it was first given to me (not in front of the giver, of course), but now I have to say ... I'm in love with it!

  • OK, I have to add that that long comment about the leash thing was really for the benefit of fellow moms, not for my darling husband. :)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment