September 22, 2008

  • Busy Boy

    If you count his naps, Jack sleeps for 13 or 14 hours a day. What's he up to in his 10 waking hours, you ask?

    Mischief, I tell you! Our little man is quite busy these days.

    Friday morning, Jack turned the space below the dining table into an obstacle course of sorts. He kept running and hiding between the chairs, where I couldn't catch him as easily.

    Just look at that smile

    Sept 3 (1).jpg

    Then, during the few seconds I took to respond to a work email, Jack opened up my underwear drawer and somehow extracted the, um, extra padding from one of my swimsuit tops.  Can I emphasize that the padding was in the swimsuit to begin with? That takes some advanced fine motor skills! I mean, I have trouble taking those pads out! Anyway, Jack quickly toddled into the kitchen with his prize, retrieved a mixing bowl from the cabinet and proceeded to put the pad into the bowl, then take it out, then put it back into the bowl for five minutes.

    Jack discovers that lingerie is fun!

    Sept 3 (2).jpg

    And today, poor Atari had to go to the vet and get an Elizabethan collar, because his crotch area is all red. Turns out that at some point, it got irritated (perhaps he scratched it or something on a walk), and when Atari kept licking at the area, it became infected. So now he's on an antibiotic. Anyway, when Johnny came home with a collared Atari, Jack had a field day. When Atari kept bumping into furniture with his E-collar (that's what they called it at the vet's office), Jack giggled. He also wanted to bang on the collar and thought it was great fun to grab Atari's face while the collar was on. Of course, we stopped him ... but first, we had to get a couple of pictures.

    Jack: Hey, Atari, your E-collar makes a great drum!
    Atari: Oh, the indignity.

    Sept 3 (16).jpg

    Jack goes straight for Atari's eyes. Atari dreams of putting Jack in an E-collar.

    Sept 3 (17).jpg

    During dinner tonight, Jack accidentally flung a piece of food onto the floor. Atari scrambled to get it, but couldn't because his collar got in the way. Jack laughed when he observed this, and then proceeded to throw a few more pieces of food on the floor so he could watch Atari try to pick up the food. Sigh! I feel so bad for Atari. I keep telling him that in a year or so, Jack will be his best buddy (Jack already thinks Atari is his best friend, but I don't think the feeling is mutual right now, haha).

    Anyway, I hope that gives everyone a better idea of what Jack does during the day! I'll update about my weekend tomorrow.

Comments (13)

  • Atari and Jack are both very cute :)

    Is Atari an Akita? I have two Shibas myself :)

  • jack is so brave to touch a dog. i'd be afraid.. hehehe

  • LOL This post gave me a much-needed laugh! Kids are so weird! I mean seriously of all of the things he could have gotten into, he chose your underwear drawer. It wouldn't have been silly enough had he pulled out underwear, but he purposely pulled padding out of your bathing suit? I mean... HUH? Then finds a bowl and plays with it in the bowl. I mean, kids are just TOO funny! I love your comment about Atari wanting to put Jack in a collar. Oh my gosh. Hilarious.

  • I have to agree with pretty much everything that glorycato just said. In fact, she took the words right out of my mouth! Erm, fingers? Glad you guys had a good weekend.

  • AWw..."brotherly love".

  • @reallifedemo - Thank you! Atari is actually a Shiba, believe it or not. He's just a very big (29 lbs) and tall one. I think normal Shibas' legs are only 2/3 the length of Atari's. His siblings were all black and tan, and the appropriate Shiba size. His parents were both winning showdogs, so the breeder was glad to see Atari, who definitely isn't show quality, go to a good home! :)

  • Beverly I loved this post! Jacki is SO stinkin cute! And who knew a padded bathing suit bra insert and a bowl could be so much fun? LOL. I'm glad Jack can entertain himself! Don't you just love working from home? It beats sitting in the office. And poor Atari, he looks adorable in his e-collar. It looks like he doesn't mind Jack..he seems like such a nice dog. :o )

  • @bevconeal - 

    Oh! After I posted the comment, I thought that Atari's face looked a little more shiba than akita, but I wasn't sure (especially the color).
    It's a shame; some of the most beautiful shibas aren't "show-quality." Have you ever seen a copper-headed black-and-tan? Those are really striking, but not accepted -_-;
    Mine right now are both copper, but the last dog we had was a black-and-tan (and really fat!)

  • i think atari suffers from hallucinations. remember all the times where we'd give him something and then he'd rip up his nose trying to bury whatever it is.. with tile floor? poor, poor atari. i think i should keep him from now on. :D

  • It's amazing how quickly Jack's growing. Sorry I haven't been around as much. I don't have internet at work (even if I do, I probably won't have time to check it) and I'm exhausted when I come home! Anyway, that's the biggest Elizabeth collar I've ever seen! Where's the Elizabeth Collar Hat for Jack's Hat album? If it's any comfort, Miso is now froggly-ugly because of something Han did... Once I have the time I'll post an entry with picture, but for now, you have to be prepared to see an ugly Miso when we finally get together!

  • Let the fun begin!!! It is hard getting those bathing suit inserts in and out, but then again, Jack has tiny little fingers so it was probably an easier task for him Atari is such a good and tolerant dog!!! Kita takes a lot from Hannah, but she does go pretty crazy with her.

  • LMAO Atari is a fantastic dog...so patient with little jack. LOL The mischief is cute. :)

  • It can't work in fact, that is exactly what I believe. check go site. The dude is completely just, and there is no suspicion. go 7 6. Thank you for the article, very useful piece of writing. here 6 LINK. Thanks for this article, really useful piece of writing.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment