April 19, 2010

  • Out and About

    Hi, everyone! Sorry I've been neglecting Xanga a bit. Now that spring is here, it feels like every weekend is filled with fun activities. Between the boys, home stuff, part-time work and weekend plans, it's hard to find time to blog, but my goal is to do at least an entry a week. It's fun to have old entries to look back on.

    Friday night, after the boys were in bed, I went for a girls' night out with Milena. We were supposed to go to a few places, but ended up not wanting to spend the cab fare (we met up at her place, then called a cab so that no one had to be the designated driver. Neither of us are big drinkers, but better safe than sorry), so we just stayed at the first place we went to, a club called Industry (used to be called Area). I'd love to read a book on the club business and the tactics they use to make a club look exclusive. We arrived at 10:15 p.m., thinking the club would be open, but they weren't open until 10:30, so we waited in line for 15 minutes. When they did open, some guy (who worked at the club) came down the line and selected only a few girls to go in (Milena and I got to go in). I couldn't tell what criteria he was using; it was probably just random. Once we were in, we grabbed a drink, and it wasn't until an hour later that the bouncers at the door started letting more people in. We heard from people who came in at that time that the line was around the corner, and people speculated that the club must be hopping on the inside while they were waiting. In reality, nothing was happening inside; we were just waiting for more people to show up so we could get on the dance floor. So funny. Anyway, the DJ was good so we danced until closing time.

    The bartender took this for us before the club got crowded

    April 112

    I was wearing a really cute miniskirt; unfortunately, when I arrived at Milena's place before we went out, her 130-pound bull mastiff jumped up in excitement to greet me, and ran her paws all the way down my bare legs. It was a friendly gesture, but usually I'm wearing pants or bermudas when I run into Mona (the dog). Have you ever had an animal who outweighs you run its nails down your bare legs? It is not fun. Her nails weren't exactly short, either, so I had these bloody scratches down my right leg (my left one wasn't too bad). My skin is sensitive, so immediately the scratches swelled up. Milena didn't have any rubbing alcohol, so we cleaned out the scratches with soap and lots of water, then I put two packs of frozen peas on them (that's how many we needed to cover the length of the scratches), and then put lotion all over the area. That was the best we could do! It was a lot better after that, and now the scratches have almost disappeared, but I do have two huge bruises from where she initially landed on me. OUCH! I am dog lover, for sure, but I was a little irritated. This is exactly why we taught Atari not to jump on people. Well, and Atari's only 30 pounds, not 130. Mona's a good dog, though. She's really gentle around Marcus (same age as Jack). Anyway, thank goodness clubs are dark; otherwise, I would have looked really strange.

    Saturday night, after the boys went to sleep, Johnny and I met up with Karthika, Peter, Courtney and Brendan for dinner at Cafe Santorini, a rooftop Mediterranean restaurant in Pasadena. The service was crappy, but the food was excellent, and the company was great, of course.

    The ladies

    April 115

    I love this picture of me and Johnny

    April 116

    Then, we just enjoyed a lazy Sunday and didn't do much. Somehow it's Monday already, boo! I hope everyone had great weekends, too.

Comments (4)

  • Cute pictures Beverly! I especially like the one of you and Johny...adorable couple!! :o ) I need to go out more often..sounds like you had a blast, but OUCH about Mona. Big dogs that aren't trained and jump on people tend to scare me!! I can't believe Mona made your legs bleed..ugh. I would've been irritated too. Sounds like Atari is well mannered since you trained him well. My neighbor's dog once jumped on me..I had to pick up Sophie b/c I thought we were going to be attacked or something and I ended up falling on my hand. I wasn't too happy about that. Ugh. I'm glad you're ok though and I enjoyed looking at all your pictures! My best friend Rachael will be in town next week, so maybe we'll go dancing-ha!

    p.s. I forgot what bull mastiffs look like, so I had to google and they are HUGE. I would've had a panic attack. :O

  • @Kbecky07 - Thanks for the compliments, Becky! :) Yeah, bull mastiffs are SOOOOOOOO big. When I first met Mona, I didn't even think to be scared because she was so gentle. Milena and I met at the neighborhood park, so when she would bring Mona, Mona was always leashed to the fence or something, and couldn't jump on people. She's a great dog, but she was NOT trained to not jump on people. I just don't get that, because it's no secret that a bull mastiff is going to get HUGE, and jumping on people is unacceptable. It's one thing if it's a small dog -- then it's just annoying, but not actually harmful. But in a big dog? No way! I was scared on Friday, though. I knew she wouldn't hurt me, but I couldn't get her to stop wanting to pounce on me and play. The things that would work with Atari -- like turning my back, or getting down to her level -- just weren't effective. And the thing is that her sheer size can do damage even without her trying to DO anything to you. There have been a couple of times where she'll walk by, and brush by me, and I'll be knocked a little off-balance. LOL! I think Atari's size is probably the biggest I'd personally be comfortable handling day in and day out. I feel like I can physically contain Atari if I needed to, but any bigger than 30 pounds, and I'd have trouble.

  • bouncer picked u 'cause u're a HOT SEXY MAMA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • It can't really work, I suppose like this. rein website rejoin web novel _. Gosh, there is so much useful data above! regularization repeat _ attentiveness check. In my opinion everybody should browse on this. refractile + tasteful . register check. I found a great deal of helpful information above!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment